You are NOT Logged in.
Chat about all aspects of snowsports, backcountry, climbing and mountaineering.
Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Goto Page:  123Next
Current Page:1 of 3
Dunc

Last Visited: 09:47
18th Mar 2021
Ski waxing iron
Date Posted: 10.59hrs on Wed 20 Jan 10

I want to start hot waxing my owns skis and boards, so I'm after a waxing iron. Is a cheap(ish) domestic dry iron (i.e. no steam or water sprays) suitable? I'm just a bit worried about the possibility of burning the base if the temperature was too high or uncontrollable. Any idea what temperature would start to burn bases? Thanks.
mdearman

Last Visited: 07:28
11th Jan 2019
Re: Ski waxing iron
Date Posted: 11.03hrs on Wed 20 Jan 10
I'm no expert but I've been using a travel iron and never burned anything. actually I did burn a hole in some laminate flooring once with molten petex, but that was unrelated to the iron...
Barney

Last Visited: 20:36
23rd Dec 2011
Date Posted: 11.04hrs on Wed 20 Jan 10
I use a cheap domestic iron. You can tell if it's too hot cos the wax starts smoking! You can buy specific waxing irons, but they're a lot more expensive!
mdem

Last Visited: 14:26
27th Feb 2018
What's this?
Date Posted: 11.13hrs on Wed 20 Jan 10
a cheap second hand travel iron off ebay does the trick - got one for about 4 quid!

has the advantage of being light and small so you can take it on trips with you.

Edited 1 times. Last edit at 11.14hrs Wed 20 Jan 10 by mdem.
robpaterson

Last Visited: 08:50
24th Feb 2013
Date Posted: 11.14hrs on Wed 20 Jan 10
I have a Tesco Value iron for waxing my board seems to do the job was about £8 i think
dhorsley

Last Visited: 16:55
16th Mar 2021
What's this?What's this?What's this?
Date Posted: 11.32hrs on Wed 20 Jan 10
I use a travel iron - works for me.