You are NOT Logged in.
Chat about all aspects of snowsports, backcountry, climbing and mountaineering.
Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Goto Page:  12Next
Current Page:1 of 2
veletron

Last Visited: 14:46
1st Apr 2021
Article on Scottish Skiing...
Date Posted: 17.30hrs on Fri 29 Jan 16
I am writing an article on Scottish Skiing - do folks think the following is fair?

NB: I know Glencoe dont usually have a traditional snowpark, but there is lot of natural 'snowpark equivalent' terrain there! I marked Cairngorm down 1* for for total beginners and snowplough turners due to the number of these folks I have seen endlessly queueing while freezing their nads off!

Edited 3 times. Last edit at 17.34hrs Fri 29 Jan 16 by veletron.

Attachments: ski.jpg (54kB)  

Re: Article on Scottish Skiing...
Date Posted: 18.35hrs on Fri 29 Jan 16
Personally, I think Glencoe deserves *** for snowplough turners, thanks to the new Coire Pollach lift. And I would knock a star off CairnGorm for experts. I'd possibly knock a star off all the resorts for snow parks, perhaps except for CairnGorm.

Post a link to the article once you've finished it, if you can!

Edited 1 times. Last edit at 18.35hrs Fri 29 Jan 16 by denfinella.

StevieMcK

Last Visited: 13:25
29th Apr 2019
Date Posted: 13.40hrs on Sat 30 Jan 16
In terms of parks, I'd give everyone one star expect the Lecht, who would get two stars for their permanent rail park and eagerness to push kickers as soon as they have enough snow.

Parks are very much an after thought in Scotland. Even in the past when Cairngorm would build a decent park for the Vans comps that no longer happen, they would always build the park for that one day to get the magazine exposure and then not maintain it.

If you're trying to be factual and honest in your article, then people are going to think three stars is the equivalent of a European park or even a dome park. The reality is, they're far from it.

veletron