You are NOT Logged in.
Chat about all aspects of snowsports, backcountry, climbing and mountaineering.
Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Ski.Fish.Bike.

Last Visited: 11:00
12th May 2017
Climate Change!!
Date Posted: 20.48hrs on Sun 5 Feb 17
Everyone is entitled to their own option on Climate Change.

But, you can't deny that it exists when...

-Expedition to the North Pole are becoming more difficult, due to thinning and melting ice.

-The Lewis glacier, Mt Kenya has lost 90% of its volume over the past 80 years.

And that there are xxxxxx amounts of scientific evidence available.

I want to hear your options.

GO!!

ratbag

Last Visited: 07:58
6th Feb 2017
Re: Climate Change!!
Date Posted: 21.28hrs on Sun 5 Feb 17
I have been running ski courses for children at Glenshee for the last 25 years. There is nothing new in the impossibility of predicting snow conditions. The observation made by Alan that we get good and bad conditions in some sort of sequence is totally accurate. We have just got to live with it and enjoy the good times when they come around

Snowweasel

Last Visited: 11:14
16th Apr 2021
Date Posted: 08.57hrs on Mon 6 Feb 17
Well, Donald Trump says it is all a lie made up by the Chinese, so.....
Actually, I don't dispute it. The science seems to me to be overwhelming. However as a skier on Scottish mountains since the 1970's, I know that weather comes and goes and a blanket assertion that skiing in Scotland is finished because of climate change is daft. We'll have plenty of good years yet.

Bomp

Last Visited: 17:00
22nd Apr 2021
Date Posted: 09.53hrs on Mon 6 Feb 17
My options? There are lots.
Or do you mean my opinions? Well, this is an internet forum so we hardly need an invitation to talk mince.

As for the facts - well yes, there does seem to be plenty of evidence for global warming, and that mankind is contributing.