You are NOT Logged in.
Chat about all aspects of snowsports, backcountry, climbing and mountaineering.
Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
ipod7584

Last Visited: 20:09
9th Mar 2020
Boarders and T-Bar/Pomas Lifts
Date Posted: 22.21hrs on Tue 14 Mar 17
This may appear a silly question, so excuse that as I'm self taught.

WHY DO SOME/ALL RESORTS INSIST ON BOARDERS HAVING ONLY ONE FOOT STRAPPED IN WHEN TAKING LIFTS?

Ive often been picked up for strapping in both feet at Cairngorm and been told its Management Policy. I will usually only strap in both feet when the tow Path or lift presents an unacceptible risk for having only one foot strapped in. What Id like to know is where (Association/Federation?) this policy is coming from and what the reasoning behind it is? I dont get it at all. Im much more in control fully strapped in and much more confident for my own and others safety.

Some lifts take of like a jet and your dragged airborne from standing, how is a novice meant to stay upright in that situation with only one foot strapped in? Ive seen accidents from this on Cairngorm and in one particularly nasty occasion a lass split her chin. I felt angry about that, thinking that probably would not have happended if the Lass had been fully strapped in or even better the Lift working more reasonable for ease of use. Now thats a H&S matter that needs addressing!

Often tow tracks are cambered, sometimes very cambered pulling you towards a hole, a stone or a Pylon. You have much better control to avoid these hazards with both feet strapped in, and you can always just get of the lift if your heading for a bruising. Thats another H&S matter thats unsatisfactorily controlled which Im sure would be better managed by allowing both feet to be strapped in.