You are NOT Logged in.
Meet up and have a chat about anything, just about. Pop in and get the craic...
Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
William

Last Visited: 08:32
12th Apr 2008
Denny Transmission Line
Date Posted: 18.41hrs on Tue 6 Feb 07
What are the Winterhighlanders thoughts on the Denny Transmission Line? (for information, I am an Electrical Engineer working with Scottish & Southern Energy, but not on this project.)

[www.scottish-southern.co.uk]

alan

Last Visited: 17:02
27th Mar 2024
What's this?What's this?What's this?
Re: Denny Transmission Line
Date Posted: 20.16hrs on Tue 6 Feb 07
As I understand it the existing powerline will need to be replaced regardless of whether capacity is increased as much of it is nearing the end of it's useful life - William do you know if that is the case?

Undergrounding smacks of out of sight and out of mind - yet would cause for more envinromental disturbance than actually building pylons.

How about some joined up thinking - there has been a long running campaign to upgrade the A9 and the main Highland Line railway is also in serious need of improvements. How about undergrounding a third of it below an upgraded A9. A third below a new high-speed highland line, and the last third carried in overtrack ganteries that can also power the trains. smiling smiley
William

12th Apr 2008
Date Posted: 20.42hrs on Tue 6 Feb 07
alan Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> As I understand it the existing powerline will
> need to be replaced regardless of whether capacity
> is increased as much of it is nearing the end of
> it's useful life - William do you know if that is
> the case?

-------------------------------------------------------
> How about some joined up thinking - there has been
> a long running campaign to upgrade the A9 and the
> main Highland Line railway is also in serious need
> of improvements. How about undergrounding a third